True Power

Before my mission I lived by the philosophy of “I can do it by myself.  I am a big girl.”  I tell you, I am still trying to get over this nonsensical attitude.  But I can tell you that God gave us weaknesses to make us strong.  So as I am working on this, I am finding true power.  And it’s not even power from my own self!

What does power come from?

This is something I have been looking for for a while.  I am a person who likes power.  Haha hopefully that doesn’t come off weird, but I like being in charge.  I was always that person in the group of friends who would be 5 steps in front of everyone else.  (Partially due to my excitement about every dang thing, and partially because I was being bossy).  And I can tell you I have been sufficiently humbled since being on mission.  Anyways back to the question.  Power comes from God.  My most powerful experiences in my mission have been when I have relied fully on Him.

DSCN0015 DSCN0124 Baby missionary Sister Harline, and then again with her mission mommy.  This is the starting line of this race. (Yes I just talked in 3rd person). This was when I thought I could do everything myself.  Ha! Good joke, Sister Harline.

I have had some huge growing experiences.  And it’s amazing because I have found that the times I have grown the most have been in situations that I didn’t want to be in. Haha! Humility at it’s finest.  Not getting what I want.  But guess what… I felt God’s power guiding and directing me during those moments.

How do you find power?

One word: Prayer.

1486911_195938560591852_1331304913_n

Best example I have found of prayer and power. Brother of Jared.

 34 And the brother of Jared being a large and mighty man, and a man highly favored of the Lord, Jared, his brother, said unto him: Cry unto the Lord, that he will not confound us that we may not understand our words.

 35 And it came to pass that the brother of Jared did cry unto the Lord, and the Lord had compassion upon Jared; therefore he did not confound the language of Jared; and Jared and his brother were not confounded. –Ether 1:34-35

 38 And it came to pass that Jared spake again unto his brother, saying: Go and inquire of the Lord whether he will drive us out of the land, and if he will drive us out of the land, cry unto him whither we shall go. And who knoweth but the Lord will carry us forth into a land which is choice above all the earth? And if it so be, let us be faithful unto the Lord, that we may receive it for our inheritance. –Ether 1:38

43 (God speaking) …And thus I will do unto thee (AKA offer blessings) because this long time ye have cried unto me. –Ether 1: 43

The Brother of Jared after crying unto the Lord is told that he will receive so many blessings! So incredible!

Later the Brother of Jared says in prayer to the Lord …

2 …O Lord, thou hast given us a commandment that we must call upon thee, that from thee we may receive according to our desires. –Ether 3:2

5 …We know that thou art able to show forth great power, which looks small unto the understanding of men. –Ether 3:5

Bam! Did the brother of Jared see that true power? Yes! And so can we all.

I know the power of prayer. I am not even close to the finish line, but I have really found myself enjoying the ride that I have had.  Not because I do anything special, or my companions do anything special, but because we all rely on the Lord. And in the end we receive that true power.  Power can be in many instances just strength to get through the hard times.  I know that’s when I have felt the power that comes from prayer the most.  Prayer can heal. Prayer can help you grow.  Prayer can guide you.  Prayer can comfort you.  Prayer WILL give you power, IF you have the faith to go to your knees and ask

Trust in God, so that He can trust in you. 

999469_196945910491117_2055636514_n

Leave a Reply

