Gratitude for Gratitude

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving!!!!!!!!! Who is thankful for that!?!?! I know I AM! Tomorrow we all get to sit down and eat and eat and eat and laugh and be Thankful altogether.  I never have really understood why we as Americans sit down and eat for hours when we want to celebrate… but BOY AM I SURE THANKFUL WE DO!!!

But now onto what I want to talk about today. A sister out here (I won’t name names because I don’t want to embarrass her or anything 😉 ), inspired me with her desire to want to come out on a mission.  She told me that the reason she desired to serve was that she knew she had been significantly blessed.  She has! She has a great loving family and friends and schooling and everything and she is just amazing! And she told me that when the lowering of age announcementness happened that the words, “Where much is given, much is required” came into her head.  She knew she had to serve a mission.  She wanted to show her gratitude to Heavenly Father by giving her all. By serving a mission! And holy stuffing! I realized that in a way that was why I came out to serve.  That’s why many of us come out to serve.  Because we have been given so many things from Heavenly Father to be grateful for. So here are some things that I am grateful for…

1. My family

2. The gospel

3. My friends–especially those at this time who are also serving missions with me

4. My companion

5. My Savior Jesus Christ.  Everything that He did for me.  I love Him more than I can even comprehend sometimes.

I am thankful that I have so many things to be thankful for. Haha! Does that make sense? But I’m thankful that I chose to serve a mission.  Oh my goodness am I sooooooo thankful for that!!!!!! I have learned more in the 6 months I’ve been away from home than I have learned all my life.  I can’t even describe it.  I’ve learned more about myself, my Heavenly Father, my Savior, people, the gospel, the list goes on and on… (Yes I put the dot dot dot there. Dramatic right?)

But I have come to know gratitude.  I am thankful for so many things. But nothing can even compare to my gratitude for the gratitude I felt before I served my mission.  I knew I had to serve! I knew I have a great thing to do! So here I am, 6 hour plane ride from home, sharing the gospel with everyone I see.  And you know what? I’m thankful!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Leave a Reply

