Bad days into good days

Something that I have learned in my short 19 years of living is that life is full of good days and bad days.  When you’re young bad days could be not getting a cookie, or maybe getting in a fight with your brother or sister (like that ever happened to me of course… HA). And then when you’re at high school age maybe you failed a test or assignment, or didn’t sleep at all that night so you’re grumpy and tired the whole day.  And college, boy oh boy college.  I’ve seen many people have bad days due to difficulties of classes, or hearts broken by their boyfriends! But as a missionary, bad days are… humbling days. Days where your appointments fall through, or people slam doors in your faces, or when people aren’t keeping their promises, such as not praying and reading the Book of Mormon.  Bad days as missionaries are also the best because they are humbling.

Take for example a day that happened this week.  Sister Smithson and I found this man who wanted to know more.  We were so excited and then before you know it, that excitement rug got whipped right out from under our feet and we found ourselves hurt on the rejected ground (haha does that even make any SENSE?!?!). He really wasn’t ready to know more and our feelings got hurt.  Nobody told me a mission was going to be easy.  In fact my whole family stressed the fact that missions are hard.  So you may be thinking, “But what makes bad days turn into good days? Do missionaries even have good days?  Why are you telling me this Sister Harline?”  Haha do not fear, my friends! This blog will all turn around.

What makes bad days turn into good days?

Now I will share a scripture that has helped me on these days. This is talking about Alma.  He prays because he sees these wicked people who built this ridiculously HUGE tower to pray to “their God” and thank him for letting them be so much more highly favored in his site.  (Side note: Do you know that God loves ALL people? Yeah you got that wrong Zoramites.) So you can imagine Alma and his brothers thinking, “What the?!?!?! How are we even supposed to help these people?!”

Alma prays and asks for comfort and guidance. In Alma 31….

“O Lord, wilt thou comfort my soul, and give unto me success, and also my fellow laborers who are with me—yea, Ammon, and Aaron, and Omner, and also Amulek and Zeezrom, and also my two sons—yea, even all these wilt thou comfort, O Lord. Yea, wilt thou comfort their souls in Christ.”– Verse 32

See? He asks for comfort and guidance for him and his brethren .  And then what happens? Verse 38…

“And the Lord provided for them that they should hunger not, neither should they thirst; yea, and he also gave them strength, that they should suffer no manner of afflictions, save it were swallowed up in the joy of Christ.”

The Lord blesses these missionaries, and their afflictions are swallowed up in the joy of Christ! How beautiful!!!!! It’s like poetry. 🙂  But we can apply this to everyone’s lives whether they be missionaries or not.  Go forward with faith each and every day, knowing that whether or not you SEE success, you know that all your afflictions can be swallowed up in the joy of Christ when we know we are doing all that the Lord has asked of us.

Do missionaries even have good days?

I’ll put it this way.  We make our days, what we want them to be.  I’ve noticed that if I ever feel discouraged, I must immediately get that thought out of my head.  And when I do that… I MAKE EVERY DAY A FANTASTIC DAYYYYYYY! 🙂 We all can! Make your day what you want it to be!

Also we have got someone on our side who is always willing to succor His people.

Why are you telling me this Sister Harline?

Because I want every one to be happy.  I’ve had people tell me a lot that I seem happy all the time.  Well I can tell you, and my companion can tell you, that I am not perfect.  Occasionally I get frustrated or grouchy, but for the majority, I’m happy. And I want others to know why.  Because I have faith.  I have faith that my Savior will always help me through.

“(For we walk by faith, not by sight:)”– 2 Corinthians 5:7

salt-lake-temple-761086-gallery

This is what makes us as a church so different than others.   We are happy because we walk by faith.  There will be good days where every thing is going in your favor.  But there will be bad days, that only God will know why they are happening to us.  He will stretch us, He will teach us, but He will always strengthen us in through those bad days.

So when so called “bad days” come, turn them into the best day that you can.  Look for the miracles.  Understand that you will become better because of it.  I know that my Heavenly Father knows me best, even better than myself.  He knows how I can improve, and even if I don’t know why something that causes a bad day is happening, He does! He knows every one and what is best for them.  We may face trials, but we become better because of them.  I know it’s true! I know that I don’t even know what I can be, but He does!

SO GO FORWARD WITH FAITH! SEEK THE BETTER IN THE DAY! AND PRAY! And read this talk and tell me if you cannot have better days… (Please now say, “challenge accepted!” 😉 )

Leave a Reply

