Who can understand?

At one point in my life, I saw someone I loved soooooo completely saddened by a trial in her life.  However, I remember a wise man telling her when she denied that ANYONE even knew how she felt, that  “There is one person who understands, and that is Jesus Christ.  Only HE understands what you are feeling!!!!”  Well that wise man was my father.  Although he may not know that I even know he said that, it’s something that has stuck with me my whole life, and you know why? (Drum roll pleaaaaaase!) ‘CAUSE IT’S TRUE! And I have a feeling that there was another Father who wanted so badly to speak to this person that the only way He could was through my Pops.  Daddy was just the mouthpiece.

I am extremely blessed!  I do not know how so many people in the world feel the way they feel. So many people have broken hearts, homes, and families.  I don’t have any of those, or at least I haven’t experienced any of that yet in my life.  And I believe, no I KNOW it’s because when hard times come, there is someone that my whole family relied on.  I cannot do everything on my own and I know that, thus why I have learned to rely on the Lord.

“For it is expedient that there should be a great and last sacrifice; yea, not a sacrifice of man, neither of beast, neither of any manner of fowl; for it shall not be a human sacrifice; but it must be an infinite and eternal sacrifice.” –Alma 34:10

christ-in-gethsemane-960127-gallery

I say this, I swear, on every single blog I post, but God really does love.  He loves! Each and every one of us; He loves! I get frustrated as a missionary sometimes because people don’t realize that.  (Don’t worry, I find myself humbled time and time again because you can’t just be getting frustrated with people left and right when you’re on a mission.) But they don’t see why He came to this earth.  People don’t see how they can turn to our Savior and rely on Him through anything and everything.

There have been times I have questioned this.  Could there really be a man out there who died for me?  Can I really have my wrongs forgiven by Him? My answer is yes, but He was a God.  No man could perform this sacrifice.  I mean it had to infinite and eternal here, people! My sins can be forgiven! And how did my questions get resolved? I’ll tell you how they did…

“2 And I will tell you of the wrestle which I had before God, before I received a remission of my sins.

4 And my soul hungered; and I kneeled down before my Maker, and I cried unto him in mighty prayer and supplication for mine own soul; and all the day long did I cry unto him; yea, and when the night came I did still raise my voice high that it reached the heavens.” –Enos 1: 2&4

I prayed.  I gave up my independent I-can-do-it-on-my-own attitude and I asked for help, for guidance, for clarity, and for help.  When I was in sorrow, I went to Him.  He knew how I felt, and I can say with all my heart that that was the closest I have ever felt to him.

woman-taken-in-adultery-948852-gallery

But I know that everyone can feel this love.  I KNOW IT! We need to ask.  He is the Shepard. He glories when He finds us turning back to Him.  Here is a Bible Video just put out by the church that I loooooooooooooove!

It is fantastic what our Savior can do.  We aren’t alone.  We never are, nor have been.

jesus-with-young-child-1127677-gallery healing-pool-of-bethesda-949695-gallery

We all have storms in out life.  But just remember the one who said “‘Peace, be still.’ And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.” He will calm our troubled hearts and souls! All we must do is turn and look.

jesus-appears-to-mary-1104071-gallery

“But when such difficult moments come to us, I testify that there is one thing which will never, ever fail us. One thing alone will stand the test of all time, of all tribulation, all trouble, and all transgression. One thing only never faileth—and that is the pure love of Christ. . . I testify that having loved us who are in the world, Christ loves us to the end. His pure love never fails us. Not now. Not ever. Not ever.” –Jeffery R. Holland

jesus-christ-1138494-gallery

“Be still, and know that I am God.” –Psalms 46:10

One thought on “Who can understand?”

Leave a Reply

