Forever called

So before my mission I thought missionary work was something that you got called to do.  Welp, I can tell you that every day I am sufficiently humbled because time and time again I hear wonderful stories of where members are better at doing missionary work than I am!  But I don’t even care because it’s SO AWESOME!!!!

For example… Today, here I am serving at the Hill Cumorah Visitors’ Center when in comes these three gorgeous woman.  Automatically I think, whoa! They are all such beautiful sisters in the gospel.  Then I come to find out that two of them are members, and that one of them in meeting with the missionaries in Syracuse!  Here are these two fantastic missionaries who just went and brought this girl who is just seeking for truth.  They are helping her, along with doing what the Lord has asked them to do! Share the gospel!!!!!

So many times members think that it’s all up to the missionaries.  I made that mistake WAY before my mission.  But now I see the importance in  doing the work.  Not only does it bring salvation to your soul (yeah that’s right, salvation!), but it helps bring souls unto Christ.  Here’s a little secret. Missionaries can’t do it on their own! Missionaries are not perfect, neither is anyone, BUT the gospel is! So why not share it with everyone?

In General Conference last weekend, it seemed to be a reoccurring theme, this missionary work. Why? Because it truly is important.  The only missionary work I did as a teenager was invite a friend to church. She came, but she didn’t ever truly accept the gospel.  After that I got discouraged and didn’t ever really want to invite more people.  Let me tell you something…  I have had 7648701589 more people tell me no on my mission.  But it’s BEAUTIFUL when someone says, “Yes! I want to come to church!” So moral of the story, not everyone is going to say yes, but we need to find those who will and are truly prepared for the gospel.  If they say no, then don’t be discouraged.  That is something I learned on my mission.  Do. Not. Be. Discouraged. Because guess what! The Lord is on our side! Missionary work starts now, each day of your life.

For those who are scared to share this glad message…

1. It’s ok. Missionary work does seem scary at first, BUT I promise you when you open up your mouth it gets easier and easier as you go.

2. Read your scriptures.  D&C 11:21 says…

“Seek not to declare my word, but first seek to obtain my word, and then shall your tongue be loosed; then, if you desire, you shall have my Spirit and my word, yea, the power of God unto the convincing of men.”

I promise you as your read your scriptures, you will know what to say!

3. Lead by example.  People are watching you every single day! And they want to know what you know.  It’s true! So many people talk about how “mormons” are such good people?  See? It’s true.  Your example means a lot.

4. Open your mouth.  What you know invites the Spirit.  Every single time.  Hands down.  It invites the Spirit, people! Do you realize what that means?  If people really are seeking for truth, they will feel it in the words you express.

So in addition to those steps, if you haven’t already watched this conference talk, watch it… NOW! Haha ok well watch it when you can.

“Become engaged in doing what you can in sharing the great message of the Restoration of the gospel of Jesus Christ.” –M. Russell Ballard

Also if you haven’t yet watched the world wide broadcast yet, get on that and watch it ASAP!

2 hours of pure joy. 🙂

Now please enjoy these old school pictures of member missionary work. 🙂 This is the kind of joy you may experience.

couple-taking-treats-to-woman-176205-gallery

member-missionary-work-568678-gallery

member-missionary-work-576148-gallery

woman-giving-book-of-mormon-561583-gallery

women-wheelchair-hugging-827992-gallery

With that being said I know that missionary work is so important!  My family all served missions, but my main goal is that all of us will not just be past full time missionaries, but missionaries for life… FOREVER CALLED! Haha. Here is that glorious family I so praise and adore. (Mom, Dad… go do your missionary work. 😉 Haha!)

976381_10200665717499037_419083496_o

Leave a Reply

