Why is it important to know who we are?

Something that I have had to realize time and time again is why is it important to know who we are?  I mean we’re just… us.  But the thing it, we aren’t just a bunch of nobodies in the world.  In fact we’re a bunch of somebodies to the very Creator of this world.

God loves you as He loves each and every one of His children, and His desire and purpose and glory is to have you return to Him pure and undefiled, having proven yourselves worthy of an eternity of joy in His presence. – Ezra Taft Benson

Missionaries don’t just go around trying to find people who will listen to them.  No… in fact we care so much about people that we want to help them come unto Christ.  We want to build even more on the beliefs that people already have.  We want to strengthen them.  We don’t just walk around in the rain (like my companion and I did just a few minutes ago) to pass out copies of the Book of Mormon.  We go to give a tool that can help others come to know Christ better.  We are there to introduce people to Another Testament of Jesus Christ.  We are not perfect teachers.  I mean look at us.  We’re on average 18 to 22 years old.  BUT we love the Lord enough to serve Him for this period of time.

Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid; for the Lord Jehovah is my strength. – 2 Nephi 22:2

We have to serve with all our heart, might, mind and strength.  And sometimes its hard, but we trust in the Lord to get us through hard times.  My family is no where near me.  I came out here alone.  I love my family, and they have been my strength through so much.  They aren’t with me now, but there is a Father who is always willing to listen to my prayers.  I love Him.  And I love our Savior. I love the rain today even thought I’m wet and cold.

To add to this post here are a few things that have helped me get through hard days where I feel all alone. 🙂

935950_448675995245482_491330530_n  1016986_10151808539721499_137420536_n  969156_518115098279939_1751431925_n

Leave a Reply

