Serving as a missionary…

I love my mission! The reason I love it so much is that it is very unique! I am in the most sacred place in all America! Here is where the first copies of the Book of Mormon were found, or the restored church of Jesus Christ was first organized, or where an ancient record that told of people who were visited by Jesus Christ himself was buried for 1400 years! I also have the place where God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ appeared to a 14 year old boy that just wanted to know which church was true.  I love being here and being able to bear my testimony of the things that I know happened in this place! And I love the spirit that is here!

DSCN0252

I was such a lucky missionary to have my first transfer during Pageant! The Hill Cumorah Pageant is every July, and people from all over the country come and act out stories from the Book of Mormon.  Here is me, (right to left) my companion Sister Tran, two wonderful actors portraying characters you would find in the Book of Mormon (the one of the left being Abinadi an amazing prophet!), and then we have Carlos who was just baptised about 5 weeks ago, and the wonderful Brother Clawson.  We love Pageant!

DSCN0294

This is the day of Carlos’ baptism! He was so happy and described that he felt “closer to God than ever before”.  Because he is!!!!!

DSCN0243

This is Sister Tran and I in the Sacred Grove on a rainy day during the week of Pageant! We were so excited that it was raining that we just HAD to take a picture! But it’s soooooo amazingly peaceful in the Grove, especially when it rains.

DSCN0346

We also serve at the Peter Whitmer Farm where the church was first organized!  The Spirit is soooo strong there! It’s SUCH a testimony that about 60 people first met at that meeting to organize the church, and now the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has over 14 million members and counting! It’s because it’s true!

DSCN0387     DSCN0404     ??????????

Of course my favorite place to be here in the mission is the Sacred Grove.  There is SUCH a Spirit there.  This is where God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ appeared to Joseph Smith in 1820.  The trees, the plants, the nature altogether contribute to the beautiful Spirit that is there.  But there’s so much more you can FEEL than just nature.  And it just helps me realize every time I go in there how much I love being a missionary.  🙂

Leave a Reply

