Making the countdown days count

Today I have 50 days left until I enter the MTC.  All I have to say is Wow! Wow, where did the time go? It was only 12 weeks ago that I opened my call telling me I was to serve in the Rochester, New York mission.  I am amazed at how fast time flies by.

I’m not going to lie, part of me is absolutely terrified of entering the field.  I don’t feel prepared at all as I’ve been trying hard to keep my grades up in school, since the few weeks after my call when I was focusing on my mission, I noticed my grades start to drop.  Whoopsies! But the beauty of being at my wonderful school is that I still feel like I am preparing for a mission.  The spirit is so strong here, and every teacher encourages their students to include the guidance of the Lord in their studies.  I am learning so much more through that direction.

As my first year of college is coming to an end, I am getting so antsy and anxious to go home.  But yesterday I heard a quote that just kind of hit me.

Don’t count the days, make the days count.”

And then we had general conference! And wow!!! And then I go through the temple today and feel the Spirit confirm to me yet again that my mission is the best thing I could be doing with my life right now.  Not only do I need to make my final days at school and home count, but also I need to really make my mission count.  I need to understand that what I’m doing is going to count for so much more than I know in someone’s life one day.

So here’s my advice to the world, myself, whoever actually reads this, whether you are serving a mission, preparing for one, or simply still in school make every day count.  Make every moment and decision you make count.  I made my decisions count when I was in high school, so that I would be prepared to enter the temple as soon as I was ready, and I felt completely prepared as soon as I got my call.  I love every day I live, and every experience that the Lord gives me.  I can truly say that having a positive attitude in my own life has made every day a good day.  Count every blessing you see in your life each day and you will find that your days count! Image

Leave a Reply

